Future Manufacturing Award Winners Announced

Manufacturing organisation, EEF, has held the National finals of the EEF Future Manufacturing Awards 2013.

EEF Future Manufacturing Awards 2013

The regional winners were all sent to the national finals where the winners were announced on 30th January at the Great Connaught Rooms in London.

The winners ranged from outstanding first year and final apprentices and businesses that invested in skills to environmentally-friendly and sustainable firms to businesses that excelled in export growth.

The ultimate "winner of winners" was the firm Chas. A. Blatchford & Sons who were winners in a number of diffferetn categories.

The Basingstoke firm, providers of prosthetic and orthotic products and services scooped two awards before being crowned the overall winner of the Future Manufacturing Awards 2013.

Stephen Blatchford, CEO of Chas. A. Blatchford & Sons, said of the company’s win:

"We are amazed and delighted to have been so successful at the EEF Future Manufacturing Awards. To have won the export growth award, the smart product award and finally and most importantly the winner of winners award is a dream come true. We are honoured that the judges chose us and it is a testament to the hard work of all of the talented people who work at Blatchford."

The judges were particularly impressed with the firm’s commercial use of scientific technology and what they called a "super-smart product" that the business came up with from combining existing bio-mechanical engineering with a new hydraulic technology development.

Not only did Chas. A. Blatchford & Sons almost double their initial sales revenue target but they were able to raie their profile from their onnovative products.

As well as the awards themselves, winners of the EEF Future Manufacturing Awards have achieved considerable success through the PR generated by the event and have seen their businesses gain recognition for their drive.

The national winners are listed below.

Full details of the winners can be seen in the EEF Future Manufacturing Awards National Winners 2013 brochure.

Winner of Winners

  • Winner of Winners: Chas. A. Blatchford & Sons

The Outstanding Achievement by a First Year Apprentice

  • National Winner: Aiden Rogers, Rolls-Royce plc
  • Joint National Runner-up: Sion Lloyd, JCB Transmissions
  • Joint National Runner-up: Matthew Watson, Canford Audio PLC

The Outstanding Achievement by a Final Year Apprentice

  • National Winner: Daniel Holland, Airbus UK
  • National Runner-up: Kimberley Hill, Defence Equipment & Support (DE&S)
  • National Highly Commended: Rebecca Wolfenden, BAE SYSTEMS

The Outstanding Achievement by a Young Engineering Student Award

  • National Winner: Thomas Doyle, Merrill Academy
  • National Runner-up: Kate Ebblewhite, St. Bede’s Catholic Comprehensive and Byron College

The Manufacturing Student of the Year

  • National Winner: Daniel Holland, Airbus UK

The Business Growth Award

  • National Winner: Advanced Insulation Plc
  • National Runner-up: JDR

The Investing in Skills Award

  • National Winner: Richard Burbidge Ltd
  • National Runner-up: Morgan Advanced Materials

The Partnership with Education Award

  • National Winner: Superior Seals Ltd
  • National Runner-up: Siemens Motion Control Congleton
  • National Highly Commended: GM UK Limited

The Operating Practices & Processes Award

  • National Winner: Loma Systems
  • National Runner-up: Paramount 21 Ltd

The Smart Product Award

  • National Winner: Chas. A. Blatchford & Sons
  • National Runner-up: Trolex Limited

The Export Development Award

  • Joint National Winner: Trolex Limited
  • Joint National Winner: Pai Skincare Limited

The Export Growth Award

  • National Winner: Chas. A. Blatchford & Sons
  • National Runner-up: Grainger and Worrall Limited
  • National Highly Commended: Haystack Dryers Limited

The Health & Safety Award

  • National Winner: UTC Aerospace Systems (Plymouth)
  • National Runner-up: Briggs of Burton PLC

The Environmental Efficiency Award

  • National Winner: Princes Gate Spring Water Ltd
  • National Highly Commended: Caparo Bridge Aluminium
  • National Runner-up: TC Industries of Europe Ltd.

The Sustainable Manufacturing Award

  • National Winner: Vaillant Group UK Ltd
  • National Runner-up: Princes Gate Spring Water Ltd

The Manufacturing Champion Award

  • National Winner: Andrew Hodgson, SMD
  • National Runner-up: William Butler-Adams, Brompton Bicycles Ltd

The Outstanding Industrialist 2013

  • Winner: Dr. Ralf Speth, Jaguar Land Rover

To find out more about the EEF Future Manufacturing Awards, contact the EEF’s awards team on 020 7654 1540 or email awards@eef.org.uk

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>