Last Chance for ‘Business Oscars’

Growing Business Awards

Small businesses have until 19th September to enter the Growing Business Awards, dubbed by Gordon Brown as “the business equivalent of the Oscars”.

Growing Business Awards

Organised by the Confederation of British Industry (CBI), the awards have been running for ten years and recognise small businesses which have achieved outstanding success.

To qualify, businesses must employ fewer than 500 people, be independently owned and based in the UK. Applicants are required to submit a 1,000–word explanation of why they should win the award, alongside three sets of audited accounts and financial projections for the next year.

This year there are two new award categories: the Social Enterprise Award, which recognises the individual or organisation that has made the most significant contribution to social entrepreneurship in the UK in the past 12 months, and the Green Award, which recognises a business that has made significant, measurable changes to its environmental performance.

The other award categories include:

  • New product of the year
  • Company of the year: global outlook and expansion
  • Company of the year: people and performance
  • Company of the year: technology and innovation
  • Company of the year: customer excellence
  • Young company of the year
  • Grand Prix award: company of the year
  • Young entrepreneur of the year
  • Entrepreneur of the year
  • Entrepreneurs’ entrepreneur award.

Shortlisted finalists will be interviewed by a judging panel that includes Duncan Bannatyne from BBC television series Dragons’ Den.

According to the CBI, winners will receive widespread television, radio, national, regional and trade press publicity.

“If your firm is really going places, or you’ve launched a fantastic new product in the last year, or perhaps you’ve excelled at customer service, or you’ve got another exciting story to tell, there’s an award for you,” said a CBI spokesperson.

Last year’s winner of the Entrepreneurs’ entrepreneur was founder Simon Nixon.

“When I think of previous winners, such as Richard Branson, Sir Philip Green, and John Caudwell, it’s a huge honour,” said Nixon.

The deadline for entries is 19th September. The winners will be announced at an awards ceremony in London on 27th November.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>